Oxford dominate Cambridge at the London Marathon

(L-R): Carly, Kate, Nick, Aitor, Rebecca, Ligita, and Edward

(L-R): Carly, Kate, Nick, Aitor, Rebecca, Ligita, and Edward

On Sunday 24 April, runners from Oxford University Cross-Country Club (OUCCC) took on Cambridge University Hare & Hounds (CUHH) at the 2016 Virgin London Marathon.  The marathon serves as the Varsity Match for the distance, and gives Oxford athletes the chance to compete against their rivals whilst also taking part in the UK’s largest, and most famous, marathon.

In short, Oxford dominated, taking victory in both the Gentlemen’s and Ladies’ competition for the second year in a row.  Three women picked up Half Blues: Emma Hodson, Ligita Visockyte and Kate Niehaus (Captain).  Unfortunately there were no Half Blues on the men’s side, though Nicholas Coupe was close in 2:48:25.  Niehaus commented: ‘I think everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and excitement of the day.’

But the London Marathon is much more than just the Varsity Match.  Alongside a record number of finishers, 2016 also saw the one millionth finisher (to be announced on 9 May).  The 2016 event reached a record-breaking £23 million for charity fundraising, which is expected to increase as late donations come in.  The public ballot for the 2017 races opens on Monday 2 May and closes at 5.00 pm on Friday 6 May.  More race reports can be found here and here.

Full Results 

Cambridge Oxford
Females 12:04:16 09:40:34
Males 09:09:15 08:41:20

Overall (lowest overall time wins):


Name University Time Sex
Emma Hodson Oxford 03:11:16 F
Kate Niehaus Oxford 03:14:28 F
Ligita Visockyte Oxford 03:14:50 F
Rebecca Frake Cambridge 03:21:27 F
Rebecca Pullon Oxford 03:27:48 F
Emma Carr Oxford 03:29:17 F
Carly Easby Oxford 03:39:44 F
Teisi Tamming Cambridge 03:55:36 F
Rachel Davies Oxford 04:38:42 F
Felicity Hey Cambridge 04:47:13 F
Harriet Cantrell Cambridge 04:50:53 F
Kamila Nigmatulina Oxford 04:52:40 F
(L-R): Carly, Kate, Rebecca, and Ligita

(L-R): Carly, Kate, Rebecca, and Ligita


Name University Time Sex Notes
Alexander Betts Oxford 02:42:05 M Invalid (professor)
Ben Trigg Cambridge 02:45:51 M
Nicholas Coupe Oxford 02:48:25 M
Justin Ball Oxford 02:55:02 M
Edward Stace Oxford 02:57:53 M
Moritz Matthey Cambridge 03:07:54 M
Aubert Ribaucourt Oxford 03:08:02 M
Edmund Gazeley Cambridge 03:15:30 M
Will Moss Cambridge 03:33:58 M
Yang Li Cambridge 03:43:44 M
Ernest Chen Cambridge 04:25:16 M

VLM, Men

This report can be accessed as a Word document here.